Charles Chesnutt

The Works of Charles Chesnutt

  • The Conjure Woman (A collection of short stories, the book contains “The Goophered Grapevine,” “Po’ Sandy,” “Mars Jeems’s Nightmare,” “The Conjurer’s Revenge,” “Sis’ Becky’s Pickaninny,” “The Gray Wolf’s Ha`nt,” and “Hot-Foot Hannibal”; 1899)
  • The Wife of His Youth, and Other Stories of the Color Line (A collection of short stories, the book contains “The Wife of His Youth,” “Her Virginia Mammy,” “The Sheriff’s Children,” “A Matter of Principle,” “Cicely’s Dream,” “The Passing of Grandison,” “Uncle Wellington’s Wives,” “The Bouquet,” and “The Web of Circumstance”; 1899)
  • Frederick Douglass (1899)
  • The House behind the Cedars (1900)
  • The Marrow of Tradition (1901)
  • The Colonel’s Dream (1905)
  • Paul Marchand F.M.C. (Completed 1921, published Princeton University Press, 1999)
  • The Quarry (completed 1928, published Princeton University Press, 1999)


In addition, Charles Chesnutt also published in the following periodicals:

  • Alexander’s Magazine
  • Boston Evening Transcript
  • Family Fiction
  • Puck
  • Youth’s Companion
  • Cleveland News and Herald
  • Atlantic Monthly
  • Crisis
  • Overland Monthly
  • Chicago Ledger
  • Century
  • New Haven Register
  • New York Independent
  • Outlook
  • Southern Workman

Famous Books Written By Charles Chesnutt

Popular Books Written By Other Famous Contemporary Writers

Most Popular Kindle Edition EBooks (Get Your Own eBook Reader)

Audio Books (Get Your Free AudioBook)