Paul Laurence Dunbar

The Works of Paul Laurence Dunbar

  • Oak and Ivy (also see below), Press of United Brethren Publishing House, 1893.
  • Majors and Minors (also see below), Hadley & Hadley, 1896.
  • Lyrics of Lowly Life (includes poems from Oak and Ivy and Majors and Minors), introduction by William Dean Howells, Dodd, 1896.
  • Lyrics of the Hearthside, Dodd, 1899.
    • Poems of Cabin and Field (collection of eight previously published poems), illustrated by wife, Alice Morse, photographs by Hampton Institute Camera Club, Dodd, 1899.
    • Candle-lightin’ Time, Dodd, 1901.
    • Lyrics of Love and Laughter, Dodd, 1903.
    • When Malindy Sings, Dodd, 1903.
    • Li’l Gal, Dodd, 1904.
    • Chris’mus Is a Comin’, and Other Poems, Dodd, 1905.
    • Howdy, Honey, Howdy, Dodd, 1905.
    • Lyrics of Sunshine and Shadow, Dodd, 1905.
    • A Plantation Portrait, Dodd, 1905.
    • Joggin’ Erlong, Dodd, 1906.
    • The Complete Poems of Paul Laurence Dunbar, Dodd, 1913.
    • Speakin’ o’ Christmas, and Other Christmas and Special Poems, Dodd, 1914.
    • Little Brown Baby: Poems for Young People, edited and with biographical sketch by Bertha Rodgers, illustrated by Erick Berry, Dodd, 1940.
    • I Greet the Dawn: Poems, edited and with an introduction by Ashley Bryan, Atheneum, 1978.


    • The Uncalled (semi-autobiographical novel), Dodd, 1898.
    • Folks From Dixie (short stories), Dodd, 1898.
    • The Love of Landry (novel), Dodd, 1900.
    • The Strength of Gideon, and Other Stories, illustrated by Edward Windsor Kemble, Dodd, 1900.
    • The Fanatics (novel), Dodd, 1901.
    • The Sport of the Gods (novel), Dodd, 1902, reprinted, with an introduction by Kenny J. Williams, 1981, published in England asThe Jest of Fate: A Story of Negro Life, Jarrold, 1902.
    • In Old Plantation Days (short stories), illustrated by B. Martin Justice, Dodd, 1903.
    • The Heart of the Happy Hollow (short stories), Dodd, 1904.
    • The Best Stories of Paul Laurence Dunbar, edited and with an introduction by Benjamin Brawley, Dodd, 1938.


    • Dream Lovers: An Operatic Romance (libretto for operetta with music by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor), Boosey, 1898.
    • (Author of lyrics) In Dahomey (stage show), with music by Will Marion Cook, produced in Boston, then at Buckingham Palace, England, in honor of the birthday of the Prince of Wales, 1903.
    • (Contributor) The Negro Problem: A Series of Articles by Representative American Negroes, James Pott, 1903.
    • (Contributor) Selected Songs Sung by Students of Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute (contains “The Tuskegee Song”), Tuskegee Institute, 1904.
    • The Life and Works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, edited and with biography by Lida Keck Wiggins, J. L. Nichols, 1907.
    • The Letters of Paul and Alice Dunbar: A Private History, two volumes, edited by Eugene Wesley Metcalf, University Microfilms, 1974.
    • The Paul Laurence Dunbar Reader, edited by Jay Martin and Gossie H. Hudson, Dodd, 1975.
    • The Collected Poetry of Paul Laurence Dunbar, edited and with introduction by Joanne M. Braxton, University Press of Virginia (Charlottesville), 1993.
    • Selected Poems, Dover Publications, 1997.

    Also author of Uncle Eph’s Christmas (one-act musical), produced in 1900. Author of lyrics to songs such as “Jes Lak White Folk,” “Down De Lover’s Lane: Plantation Croon,” and “Who Knows.”
    Contributor to newspapers and periodicals, including Atlantic Monthly, Blue and Gray, Bookman, Chicago News Record, Century, Dayton Herald, Denver Post, Detroit Free Press, Harper’s Weekly, Independent, Lippincott’s, Nation, New York Times, and Saturday Evening Post. Work represented in anthologies.
    Author’s papers and letters are included in collections at the Ohio Historical Society, the Schomburg Collection of the New York Public Library, and the Houghton Library, Harvard University.

    Media Adaptations: Portions of Dunbar’s work were adapted by Pauline Myers for the stage production The World of My America: A One Woman Dramatization, and by Vinette Carroll for the stage production When Hell Freezes Over, I’ll Skate.
    The Dayton Opera commissioned the one-act production, “Paul Laurence Dunbar: Common Ground,” which premiered in 1995, at the Victoria Theatre in Dayton. Libretto written and poems selected by Herbert Woodward Martin, English professor and poet-in-residence at the University of Dayton.

    Source: Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2002.
    Gale Database: Contemporary Authors

Famous Books Written By Paul Laurence Dunbar

Popular Books Written By Other Famous Contemporary Writers

Most Popular Kindle Edition EBooks (Get Your Own eBook Reader)

Audio Books (Get Your Free AudioBook)