Jerome Lawrence & Robert Lee

Awards and Honors

Jerome Lawrence

  • New York Press Club award, 1942
  • City College of New York award, 1948
  • Radio-TV Life award, 1948, 1952
  • George Foster Peabody awards, 1949, for United Nations Radio series, and 1952 (with others), for Halls of Ivy
  • Radio-TV Mirror awards, 1952, 1953
  • Variety Showmanship award, 1954
  • Variety New York Drama Critics Poll award for most promising new playwright, Outer Circle Critics award, and Donaldson Award for best new play, all 1955, all for Inherit the Wind
  • Ohioana Award, 1955
  • Ohio Press Club Award, 1959
  • London Critics Poll award for best foreign play of the year and British Drama Critics award for best foreign play, both 1960, both for Inherit the Wind
  • Playwright of the year, Baldwin-Wallace College, 1960
  • D.H.L., Ohio State University, 1963
  • Antoinette Perry Award Nomination for book of a musical, 1966, for Mame Moss Hart Memorial Award, 1967, for Inherit the Wind
  • “Man of the Year,” Zeta Beta Tau, 1967
  • D.Litt., Fairleigh Dickinson University, 1968
  • U.S. State Department medal, 1968
  • D.F.A., Villanova University, 1969
  • Pegasus Award, 1970
  • Centennial Award medal, Ohio State University, 1970
  • Ohio governor’s award, 1972
  • American Theatre Association Lifetime Achievement Award, 1979
  • National Thespian Association Directors Award, 1980
  • Pioneer Broadcaster award, 1981
  • Rocky Mountain Writers Guild Master of Arts award, 1982
  • William Inge award and lectureship, Independence Community College, 1983, 1986-91
  • D.Litt., College of Wooster, 1983
  • Writers Guild of America Valentine Davies Award (with Robert E. Lee), 1984, for “contributions to the entertainment industry and the community-at-large which have brought dignity and honor to writers everywhere”
  • Distinguished Contribution award, Psychologists for Social Responsibility, 1985
  • Career award, Southeastern Theatre Conference, 1990
  • Named to Theatre Hall of Fame, 1990
  • Elected to College of Fellows of American Theatre at Kennedy Center, 1990
  • National Theatre Conference, honorary member, 1993.

Robert E. Lee

  • New York Press Club award, 1942
  • Peabody Award, 1948, for UN radio series
  • Radio-TV Life award, 1948, 1952
  • Radio-TV Mirror award, 1952, 1953
  • Donaldson Award, Outer Circle Award, and Variety New York Drama Critics Poll, all 1955, and Critics Award for best foreign play (London) and British Drama Critics award for best foreign play, both 1960, all for Inherit the Wind
  • “Tony” Award, 1955 and 1966
  • D. Litt., Ohio Wesleyan University, 1962
  • M.A. in theatre, Pasadena College of Theatre Arts, 1963
  • Antoinette Perry Award Nomination for book of a musical, 1966, for Mame
  • Moss Hart Memorial Award, 1967
  • Best Comedy/Drama Special award from the National Television Academy, 1988, for the television adaptation of Inherit the Wind
  • Lifetime Achievement Award from the William Inge Festival, 1988
  • Named to the American Theatre Hall of Fame, 1990.

Famous Books Written By Jerome Lawrence & Robert Lee

Popular Books Written By Other Famous Contemporary Writers

Most Popular Kindle Edition EBooks (Get Your Own eBook Reader)

Audio Books (Get Your Free AudioBook)