James Thurber

The Works of James Thurber

Essays and Stories

  • (With E. B. White) Is Sex Necessary?; or, Why You Feel the Way You Do, Harper, 1929.
  • The Owl in the Attic and Other Perplexities, Harper, 1931.
  • The Seal in the Bedroom and Other Predicaments, introduction by Dorothy Parker, Harper, 1932.
  • My Life and Hard Times (includes The Night the Bed Fell, The Day the Dam Broke, and More Alarms at Night; also see below), Harper, 1933.
  • The Middle-Aged Man on the Flying Trapeze: A Collection of Short Pieces (includes One Is a Wanderer and Mr. Preble Gets Rid of His Wife), Harper, 1935.
  • Let Your Mind Alone!, and Other More or Less Inspirational Pieces, Harper, 1937.
  • The Last Flower: A Parable in Pictures (also see below), Harper, 1939.
  • Cream of Thurber, Hamish Hamilton, 1939.
  • Fables for Our Time and Famous Poems Illustrated (includes Little Red Riding Hood and The Green Isle in the Sea), Harper, 1940.
  • My World—and Welcome to It (includes The Secret Life of Walter Mitty; also see below), Harcourt, 1942.
  • Thurber’s Men, Women, and Dogs, Harcourt, 1943.
  • The Thurber Carnival, Harper, 1945, abridged edition published as Selected Humorous Stories from “The Thurber Carnival,” edited by Karl Botzenmayer, F. Shoeningh, 1958.
  • The Beast in Me and Other Animals: A Collection of Pieces and Drawings about Human Beings and Less Alarming Creatures, Harcourt, 1948.
  • The Thurber Album: A New Collection of Pieces about People, Simon & Schuster, 1952.
  • Thurber Country: A New Collection of Pieces about People, Simon & Schuster, 1953.
  • Thurber’s Dogs: A Collection of the Master’s Dogs, Simon & Schuster, 1955.
  • A Thurber Garland, Hamish Hamilton, 1955.
  • Further Fables for Our Time, Simon & Schuster, 1956.
  • Alarms and Diversions, Harper, 1957.
  • The Years with Ross (Book-of-the-Month Club selection), Little, Brown, 1959.
  • Lanterns and Lances, Harper, 1961.
  • Credos and Curios, Harper, 1962.
  • Vintage Thurber, two volumes, Hamish Hamilton, 1963.
  • Thurber & Company, introduction by Helen Thurber, Harper, 1966.
  • Snapshot of a Dog, Associated Educational Services, 1966.
  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (also see below), Associated Educational Services, 1967.
  • The Catbird Seat, Associated Educational Services, 1967.
  • Selected Letters of James Thurber, edited by his wife, Helen Thurber, and Edward Weeks, Little Brown, 1981.
  • The Night the Ghost Got In, Creative Education, Inc., 1983.
  • In a Word, Harper, 1989.
  • Collecting Himself: James Thurber On Writing and Writers, Humor and Himself, Harper, 1990.
  • The Years with Ross, Perennial Classics, 2001.

The Thurber Letters: The Wit, Wisdom, and Surprising Life of James Thurber, Simon & Schuster, 2003.

Famous Books Written By James Thurber

Popular Books Written By Other Famous Contemporary Writers

Most Popular Kindle Edition EBooks (Get Your Own eBook Reader)

Audio Books (Get Your Free AudioBook)