Katherine Ayres

The Works of Katherine Ayres

  • Family Tree (1996)
  • North by Night: A Story of the Underground Railroad (1998)
  • Silver Dollar Girl (2000)
  • Stealing South: A Story of the Underground Railroad (2001)
  • A Long Way (2003)
  • Macaroni Boy (2003)

American Girl Series

  • Voices at Whisper Bend
  • Wednesday Afternoon Girls
  • Shadows in the Glasshouse
  • Watcher in the Piney Woods
  • Under Copp’s Hill


  • “Runaways on the River,” Cricket Magazine, April 1994
  • “Dancing the Two-Step,” Stepfamilies, Spring 1994
  • “Cast of Characters (a child’s perspective),” Stepfamilies, Summer 1994
  • “Talking to the Dogs,” Pockets Magazine, May 1996
  • “The Visitor,” Spider Magazine, December 1997
  • “Welcoming Andrew,” Pockets Magazine, February 1998
  • “Sugar Peas,” Ladybug Magazine, May 1998
  • “A Long Way,” Ladybug Magazine, June 1998
  • “Who Needs a Bath?” Ladybug Magazine, May 1999
  • “Up, Down, Around and Around,” Ladybug Magazine, (pending)


  • “Park Amusements,” a one-act play set in Kennywood Park, 1969, explores the notion that things may get turned upside down in an amusement park. Produced by Studio Theatre, Inc., New York.
  • Change of Heart, the story of a woman who is terminally will with heart disease. The play explores the issue of transplant. Full production planned.
  • A Taste of Apples, a fictional look at the life of Louisa May Alcott (for adults).
  • “The Local,” a one-act farce suggests that anything can happen on a New York subway. Produced by Pittsburgh Public Theatre in its “Public Works” program 1998
  • “The Day Mare,” a play for children about three monsters who hide in a little boy’s closet because they are afraid of the light.

Famous Books Written By Katherine Ayres

Popular Books Written By Other Famous Contemporary Writers

Most Popular Kindle Edition EBooks (Get Your Own eBook Reader)

Audio Books (Get Your Free AudioBook)